Four awards given to Trailblazer in Garden State Scholastic Press Association contest

The Trailblazer won three awards and one honorable mention in the GSSPA contest for the 2020-21 school year.


Briana Keenan

The Trailblazer’s 2021-22 editorial staff along with advisor Vani Apanosian.

On Nov. 9 and 10, the Garden State Scholastic Press Association (GSSPA) held their statewide awards contest for student publications on Instagram Live. Student journalists helped president Bill Rawson announce the winners for online and print categories for the 2020-21 school year. Three awards and one honorable mention were given to the Trailblazer in its second year of entering the contest, listed below: 


  • Broadcast Features — 3rd place, Riley Solomon, Scianna Scott, Ben Hoffman, Sabrina Moe, and Justine Marinkovic, “Pascack Recap Episode 2
  • Breaking News — 2nd place, Jared Mitovich, “Superintendent to leave district for new job
  • Editorial Cartooning — 1st place,  Division B — Samantha Mansueto, “One debate: Two clowns”

Honorable mentions:

  • Sports Writing — Honorable Mention, Division B — Shaan Dalal, “The Last Cowboy”

There were no division separations for online awards, but the print awards were divided into 3 divisions based on school population. The article and editorial cartoon not linked are from the Trailblazer’s winter and spring print editions.